My Chick-fil-A Secret Menu: 5 Hacks Created by a 5 Year Chick-fil-A Team Member

As a 5 year Chick-fil-A team member, I am asked one question more than any other: how on earth do you STILL love eating Chick-fil-A after eating it for so long? I did get burnt out at one point, and quickly realized I needed to change what I order. Having tried everything on the menu, I was forced to become a bit creative. I began to vary the type of chicken, switch-up the toppings, and try different sauce combinations with my meal. After learning what combinations work best, I came up with some delicious off-menu hacks. A few of these are healthy alternatives, others are inexpensive versions of my favorite items, and some cost a bit extra but are definitely worth the up-charge.

It’s my pleasure to reveal to you 5 Chick-fil-A “secret menu” items that prevented me from getting tired of eating here on a daily basis!

  1. Inexpensive Iced Coffee

    Everyone knows that I love coffee. What you don’t know is that I desperately need it before an 8 hour shift that begins at 6 am (or else I won’t be a pleasure to be around). Because the cold brew iced coffees are a premium item, team members are not allowed to have one for free. We are, however, allowed unlimited drip coffee! To prevent spending money on iced coffee, I began taking my drip coffee and pouring it over ice. It doesn’t taste exactly the same, but its a tad less expensive (and free for some team members *depending on your operator*)! It also has less caffeine, which is beneficial to those who cannot handle the high caffeine content of cold-brew. The final plus to ordering this way is there is free refreshes on drip coffee, but not on cold-brew (which means MORE COFFEE!).

    How to Order: Order a large drip coffee with your choice of creamer and sugar (most locations have lots of options including hazelnut and french vanilla creamers, sugar in the raw, Splenda, 2% milk). Also order a large cup of ice. Pour the hot coffee over the ice. To minimize melting ice, let the coffee cool down for 30 minutes, or order with 2% milk to help cool the coffee down.

    Price Comparison: $2.19 (with FREE refreshes if you dine in!) vs. $2.79 (Large Iced Coffee)

  2. Grilled Spicy Buffalo Chicken Cool Wrap:

    One of my all time favorite items on the Chick-fil-A menu is the grilled cool wrap. It is extremely healthy and nutrient-dense, and is a lighter option compared to some of the fried choices. However, after ordering the standard cool wrap for weeks, I began to get bored with the same meal every day. I still needed to avoid the fried foods, but I craved a bit more variety. The classic grilled chicken is not the only grilled item Chick-fil-A offers: they also serve grilled spicy chicken for both the Spicy Southwest Salad and the Grilled Spicy Deluxe. That is when the idea sparked into my head for a grilled spicy buffalo chicken wrap.

    How to Order: Order a grilled cool wrap with chilled spicy grilled chicken, blue cheese crumbles instead of shredded cheese, and the corn, bean, and pepper mixture from the Spicy Southwest salad. Ask for both the Zesty Buffalo sauce packets and a Garlic & Herb Ranch dressing.

    Variations: Order hot grilled chicken, hot spicy grilled chicken, fried classic or spicy chicken, or go completely meatless! The possibilities are endless. It is possible there may be some up-charges, but it is worth it for a completely customized cool-wrap!

  3. Southwestern Grilled Chicken Scramble Burrito/Bowl

    Working at 6 am meant that I often had to go on break around 8:30-9 am, so I was usually limited to breakfast items. Since I was trying to make healthier choices, I needed to avoid the higher-carbohydrate choices that are prominent during breakfast. A great low-carb option is a variation of the Chicken Scramble burrito that is full of southwestern flavor.

    How to Order: Order a Chicken Scramble Burrito (I usually go with the bowl for a high-protein low-carb option) made with a hot grilled breakfast filet instead of the fried filet. Ask for no hash browns in the bowl/burrito if you want to be even healthier. Add the corn, bean, and pepper mixture from the Spicy Southwest Salad. Order a side of hot sauce or buffalo sauce to add some heat (or the salsa that comes with it, although I am not a huge fan).

  4. Strawberry Lemonade (Frosted or Iced)

    Although Chick-fil-A’s hand-squeezed lemonade is pure perfection as is, there’s only one possible way to make it better: turning it into strawberry lemonade. And yes, it is just as incredible as it sounds. This isn’t really a secret item, as there are a few people that order their frosted lemonade or classic lemonade with the strawberry we use for milkshakes. However, some guests have no idea that this is even an option, so I am here to drop everyone a much needed hint! (Note, there is usually an up-charge of about $0.50 with this order.)

    How to Order: Order any size frosted lemonade or iced lemonade, with 2-4 pumps of strawberry filling (depending on size). If you order a strawberry Frosted Lemonade, the team member will blend it together for you. If you order it in your classic lemonade, you will definitely have to mix it together yourself. I recommend grabbing a spoon and mixing it that way!

  5. Chocolate Covered Strawberry Milkshake

    Between seasons, Chick-fil-A often offers only 4 different shake flavors: Vanilla, Chocolate, Cookies & Cream, and Strawberry. However, there is one combination that not many people try. I have tried pretty much every combination imaginable (Double-Chocolate Cookies and Cream, Strawberry Cookies and Cream). The best, by far, has been the “Chocolate Covered Strawberry” Milkshake. This shake quite literally tastes like a chocolate covered strawberry, and it is one of my favorite desserts from Chick-fil-A now (other than the new Frosted Sunrise, of course!)

    How to Order: Order a small or large Strawberry shake. Add chocolate to the shake (they will add the same amount of chocolate as they do to a chocolate shake). Top with whipped cream and a cherry (as if there is any other way to eat it!)

If you have tried these secret menu items, comment below to tell me your thoughts! Have any other ideas for me to try? Leave a comment for me and I will let you know how I liked it!

Thank you for reading, everyone, and Stay Caffeinated!

– Author: Rea-Lynne Starbird (Creator of Locally Caffeinated and Caffeinated Floridian)

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑